Cookshelf Chocolate Cookbook

I keenly remember when my love of desserts began. Throughout the house the mouthwatering smell of chocolate chip cookies wafting throughout the house would lure me into the kitchen. No sooner had the cookies come out of the oven warm and gooey, I would eat at least five before my mom told me to stop. Then my brothers and my father would come into the kitchen and sneak cookies behind her back. They were practically half gone by the time they were ready much to my mother’s dismay. Which is why by now she makes over two dozen at a time. From the first cookie I tried, I fell in love. As I grew up, this love for food grew. I mainly loved dessert more than anything and would help with baking from time to time. Licking beaters clean, eating raw cookie dough, and batter was a serious task in the process of everything I baked. I  made several attempts at baking in the twenty years of my life, some were successful and others… not so much. I once failed making brownies simply because I felt the need for more chocolate. I thought one could never go wrong with more chocolate until they came out like cookies except really hard. I admit that was a bad idea since they became hockey pucks, however with hot chocolate you can never have enough chocolate. There are a few things I am generally obsessive about: mashed potatoes, stuffing, coffee, and dark chocolate. Out of these there are only two that generally cannot be messed up too horribly: coffee and chocolate. Which is likely why the Cookshelf Chocolate cookbook became only cook book I currently own. I had found this book in a thrift store and immediately wanted to purchase the cook book due to its chocolate theme and tasty photos. My mouth watered and my hands itched make some of the recipes.

Inside you will find 120 chocolate recipes from around the world with chapters on large cakes, small cakes, cookies, hot desserts, cold desserts, confections, and drinks. Perfect for any chocoholic, such as myself. While I may not have looked at many cook books, I know that the images are the best highlight of this book other than the resulting desert from the recipes. I found the set up to the recipes pretty standard. The heading of the recipe, with the servings, and ingredients begins each page. This set up I found was really nice since I could see what it was, how much it made, and what I needed to make it.  The recipe itself is usually short and simple. Very easy to follow, and there are tips or variations provided. At the bottom of the page are pictures for reference while baking when necessary.

Overall it is not a good book for someone health conscious since this book  will not skimp on sugar. I feel however a lot of people would need to adapt recipes for a healthier result or to just lessen the sweetness since the variations do not take into account your taste. This book does not include calories or other options to certain ingredients hard to find. The graphics of the resulting recipes are enough for a person to fawn over and decide they would make one as beautiful and mouthwatering as pictured. I will admit there are a lot of recipes people will dislike like the orange chocolate cake or the chocolate fruit loaf recipes. From my previous experiences with assorted chocolates, oranges and chocolate do not go well together. This book is great for finding specific recipes of different things you would like with chocolate. For example the chocolate and Cocoanut Roulades or my favorite the Sachertorte cake, which is dark chocolate and black coffee. However I prefer to exclude the apricot preserve.  There is a wonderful variety though ranging from low-fat chocolate and pineapple cake, chocolate and cocoanut Roulades, truffles, biscuits, and sundaes. Due to this I recommend buying this book if you love chocolate and rate this book at 4/5 since I feel that that book could provide more alternative variations. Personally, I do love this book since I love figuring out different ways to put chocolate in desert and still have something new tasting!

Recipe: Chocolate Chip Cookies

Easy steps to follow below,

All that this recipe requires is

1. grease 2 cookie sheets

2.mix all ingredients in a bowl in order listed

  • 1/2 cup soft margine
  • 1/3 cup light brown sugar
  • 1/4 cup superfine sugar
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla
  • 1 egg
  • 1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 2/3 dark chocolate chips

and beat till combined.

3. Call your mom to clarify.

4. Place tablespoonful’s of mixture onto cookie sheets evenly spaced. (while eating at least one spoonful for good measure)

5. Bake pre-heated oven 375 F for 10-12 min or until golden brown

6. Use spatula to move onto wire cooling rack or towel.

7. Eat at least five while still warm. If you have children double the recipe or more. Makes about 18.

*8. If possible ask your mom to join you instead of baking alone and remember to thank her for all those times she ever baked anything for you.

 

20170423_17290920170423_172925

This entry was posted in Cookbook Reviews, Research and Recipes, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

