Food, Inc. review by Jason Hurst

When you go to the supermarket to purchase meat, have you considered what happened to the meat before it was packaged for sale? Or maybe who are the people that prepare the meat and what they do to get the meat ready for sale? These are some of the very issues that are tackled in the film Food, Inc., the only bad part is that you most likely won’t like the way it is prepared. That is because this movie goes no to show the viewer the side of the food industry that they don’t want you to see. The film most certainly isn’t for the squeamish and may even change your perspective of meat all together.

I felt that this movie had such a big impact on me because it went on to show the food industry for what it really is. To me this was best said when Eric Schlosser had this to say, “There is this deliberate vale, this curtain that is dropped between us and where our food is coming from. The industry doesn’t want you to know what you are eating, because if you did you wouldn’t want to eat it.”[1] To me this stood out because it was one of the first things that was said in the film so I felt that it really set the tone for what you are about to watch. The film also tackled issues that are still going on today so it was easy for me to relate to it, while at the same time providing a few ways that you can attempt to solve some of the issues on your own.

Despite how much I liked the film there was a few things I found a bit unnecessary. For example, the film didn’t really show you another side of the food industry, just pretty much the bad things. Which to me seemed a bit biased at times, I like to compare the good and the bad so I can get a better general picture of what’s really going on. For example, there was a point in the film where they interviewed a Perdue chicken farmer by the name Carole Morrison. She had this to say about her own chicken farm, “It is nasty in here. There is feces everywhere. This isn’t farming this is just a mass production like an assembly line in a factory.”[2] To me this just showed that the conditions of her farm individually was bad. It still left me wondering where her farm stood compared to a more proper chicken farm. If it would have showed me what a proper chicken farm looked like there would have been a better impact since this was something I had no prior knowledge about.

Another thing I didn’t really like was how in depth they went with showing what happens to the animals prior to being butchered. Like how they were treated at the different types of CAFOs. I found this to be necessary however, because despite their being other ways of animals being raised for slaughter this is the general way our meat is prepared to be slaughtered. And despite how hard it was to see at times I felt that it should be shown to get their point across. Furthermore, I would still recommend this movie since I felt it accomplished the goal of showing the food industry for what it is really is. But only to those who are prepared for what they are about to see. This film tackles many serious issues within the food industry and could even have a serious effect on one’s diet. But at the same time it seems this was the objective of the film’s director, Robert Kenner. If this was his objective all I would have to say to Mr. Kenner is bravo you, for sure, accomplished that goal.

food-inc

[1]Food, Inc. Dir. Robert Kenner. Perf. Eric Schlosser. Movie One, 2008. Netflix.

[2]Food, Inc. Dir. Robert Kenner. Perf. Carole Morrison. Movie One, 2008. Netflix.

 

This entry was posted in Food Documentary Reviews. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

