Review of Kingsolver’s Animal, Vegetable, Miracle: A year of Food Life

Kingsolver’s Animal, Vegetable, Miracle: A Year of Food Life is fact spun into a tale of transition into a more understandable life. Barbara Kingsolver leads us through her travels from typical American consumer to resourceful gardenist providing for her family. She shows her knowledge through her story and through her facts.  Kingsolver argues throughout this book that such modest and more efficient ways of living teach us to respect what we eat, bring us closer to our family as we slow things down and make meals a more personal event, and stimulate our economy. She certainly lures me in with her writing at times and others leaves me drifting away to a time when I’m myself why I’m reading the same story over and over again. There were times in this book that I felt as though I was living in one of those movies where they repeat the same day repeatedly and I felt myself growing as frustrated with it as the protagonist would be. But, I attribute this feeling to my sitting down and reading the stories (chapters) back to back. I think if you take this book a story at a time it will digest better, like you wouldn’t eat pickles and ice cream together, so don’t read thirty stories (an exaggeration, of course) of Kingsolver’s kitchen adventures. While not in bulk, in patches Kingsolver delivers an excellent sense of “I should get up and do something,” attitude. Kingsolver’s tale of family, vegetables, and reality leaves me on her side. Resist the urge for the quick, for the cheap, for the unhealthy meal. I can’t argue with her on that and her stories, though sometimes repetitive, all take us on a tour of people living different lives as if we’re walking through a whole new community.

 

This entry was posted in Kingsolver Reviews. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

