Chunky Clam Chowder

November 26, 2013, Nine thirty pm, I received a text from my good friend, Tony, who asked to use my microwave to heat up something to eat. I told him he could and to come over whenever he was ready. About fifteen minutes later, there was a knock on my door and I immediately answered knowing I was expecting a visit. My friend Tony entered the room as planned, and then two other people magically appeared in my room unexpectedly. It was our friend Erin and some kid who didn’t introduce himself, so I’ll call him “Unknown.” Here was the plan: Tony was going to use my microwave and heat up some food, we were going to crack jokes or have a simple conversation for about three minutes while my microwave provided warmth to his frozen food. Tony exits. End of discussion. Back to work.

Upon entering the room, I couldn’t help but notice Tony balancing a plethora of microwavable food in his arms. Small talk began to fill the room with “Unknown,” Tony and I, which “masked” the fact that Erin were preparing to use my microwave. I overlooked my two visitors inching opposite from my microwave with every word being spoken, drawing my attention from the door to my desk behind my bed on the other side of my room. As I sat on my bed and got comfortable, I was alarmed when I heard a Click sound. This sound was familiar … the type of sound that one hears when a seal is being broken. As I quickly cut my eye towards the door, there she was; his friend Erin, was discreetly popping a can open,  which caused me to stare at her as if she was crazy because I was pissed that she thought she had the right to use my microwave without even asking me. Then common sense told me “OH, Tony asked to use your microwave on Erin’s’ behalf…”

Wait, why couldn’t Erin ask to use my microwave instead of putting Tony up to asking me?” I said back.

“Oh ha-ha” said Tony as he snickered at my puzzled look, “I hope you don’t mind if Erin warm up her canned chowder.”

It’s Clam Chowder” said Erin aggressively as if she was offended by the minor mistake Tony made. In reality, she was mad because she was caught in an unpleasant act.

“Sure go ahead” I said politely even though on the inside I was burning with rage. How dare this Erin come into my room, solicit my microwave and act so rudely! An awkward vibe filled the room as she prepared to release her chowder. “She was preparing to pop the can open anyway” I sarcastically said to Tony, smiling from ear to ear and giving him two thumbs up. A snap sound transitioned the awkward moment as Tony, Unknown and I observed Erin as she pulled the lid off of a can of

“She pulled the lid off of a can of “Campbell’s Chunky New England Clam Chowder””

“Campbell’s Chunky New England Clam Chowder”, and poured a pure white, chunky, soup-like substance into a white bowl; I thought I was going to puke.

It was really Clam Chowder. I’ve never saw or tried Clam Chowder before so I was ignorantly disgusted by the display of it as I watched Erin sit it inside my microwave. Although I like to give every new food a try, my disliking for Erin caused an unfair bias towards Clam Chowder. However, my mind started to wander as we all gathered in front of the microwave, watching the Clam Chowder as if it was a Netflix movie.  Secretly curious about the taste of clam chowder, I decided to start a three minute conversation on clam chowder. “Ewe, clam chowder is nasty; I can’t believe I’m allowing you to cook it in my room!” I said, as I attempted to break the silence in the room. I instantly put a guard up to protect me from my inner guilt; I was not going to give in.

“Have you taste it before?” said Erin.

“Nope,” I said pointing my nose to the ceiling “It looks disgusting.”

“Well you’ll never know until you try it,” said Erin with her hands on her hips.

“I’ll never try it, it looks nasty, smells nasty, and so it must taste nasty.” I was lying to myself. The aroma of this Clam Chowder had my stomach doing flips; I secretly wanted to taste it but I was not going to give in. My curiosity meter was about to explode as the aroma became stronger and stronger. The aroma lured me into a deep fantasy. “A minute and twenty seconds left, and she will be all mine. I will soon-“

  “Reggie!” said Erin. I snapped back into reality.

“Yes?” I said with an attitude.

“I want you to taste it.” Erin said, as she invited herself to walk across my room and stuck her hand into my box of sorted silverware like a claw machine until she finally grabbed a spoon.

Trying to resist I said “NO!”

“Wait, let me find a small clam” said Erin as she stirred the bowl of Clam Chowder walking my way.

“Ewe, No, I’m okay Erin, seriously,” I said in a serious tone as my body turn away from her.  However, my eyes stayed beaming at the delicious bowl of Clam Chowder. The aroma lured me in.

While Erin hunted for a small clam in her bowl of Chowder, I thought to myself “It’s not that bad. Just try it; you’ll never know how it tastes. You Might like it Reggie, have an open mind.” 

“Okay, I found the smallest clam, try it and you better not waste it!” Erin said in a demanding tone.

“Let me get a napkin because I Know I’ll be spitting this out in no time,” I said while grabbing a napkin and gathering my taste buds together for this chowder. As Erin slowly shoved the spoon full of Clam Chowder in my mouth the world ceased that very moment. Fireworks exploded in my mouth, I had an epiphany and life was never the same. I surrendered to the warm, flavorful, chunky Clam Chowder that was conquering my taste buds and satisfying my curiosity.

“I surrendered to the warm, flavorful, chunky Clam Chowder that was conquering my taste buds and satisfying my curiosity. “

I must admit, the chowder was very good, however, as I attempted to swallow the Chowder, I spit it out. Yup, my pride took over and my ego got the best of me. I already gave into the Chowder internally, but I was not going to be proven wrong by Erin.

“Why would you spit it out?!” yelled Erin. She was pretty pissed off at the fact that I wasted a scoop of Clam Chowder that she could’ve saved for herself.

“Ha-ha-ha, I told you it was nasty, why do you think I got the napkin?” I said laughing with a big grin on my face. I finally made it. I proved myself right, I don’t like Clam Chowder. I actually lied to myself, I really wanted that scoop of Chowder but it was too late; It was balled up into a napkin and thrown into the trash.

As Erin stormed out the room, Tony, and their friend followed her without even looking my way.  I’m sure they enjoyed the little episode between Erin and I while it lasted because they rarely said a word, they just watched us settle our differences and laughed at our non-intentional entertainment. As I followed them into the hall, a part of me wanted to call her back and ask for another scoop and confess my secret to her, but it was too late; Erin already turned the corner before I could get my thoughts and words together. As I took the walk of shame back into my room, I started to think in retrospect about the decisions I made as I continuously repeated “Stupid, stupid, STUPID! Why did you spit the Chowder out?” I started to regret.

I was disappointed with myself, I finally opened up to something new, but it’s not important anymore because they’ll never believe that I actually liked the chowder. If I call her back for another spoon full, they’ll think I’m being nice to Erin by eating the Chowder the second time around, but that’s not the case. I really, really liked the Clam Chowder. 

This entry was posted in Narratives. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Chunky Clam Chowder

  1. Janice Chernekoff says:

    Well, you could always buy some clam chowder?

Leave a Reply

