Summer’s End

Alexa Hoey
10/16/2013
Janice Chernekoff

The end of every August always serves as a transitional period.  While I was growing up, the end of August always meant that it was time for people my age to trade in their shorts for long pants, their video game controllers for #2 pencils and textbooks, and their days of playing in the sun and enjoying long summer days for a stuffy classroom.  To me, it meant savoring the taste of biting into a big, red, juicy, home grown tomato while I still can.  It’s not just the tomatoes, though.  It’s also the big, juicy apples, the blueberries, the peaches…I just want to relish in their sweet and delightful tastes for as long as I possibly can before I am forced to say goodbye to them for nine or ten months.

There is nothing like biting into an apple that is picked off of your own apple tree, or an apple tree that you know is only a mile up the road.  My absolute favorite part about this time of year, though, would have to be the pies.  Almost every fruit out there tastes just as good in pie form, and my mom and I took advantage of every opportunity to turn these delectable fruits into warm and heavenly deserts.  Every kid my age always dreaded the end of August, but for me, I knew that it meant spending days and evenings transforming my favorite summer snacks into my favorite treats.  As late summer days turned into late summer evenings, the cool summer breeze snaking its way from our wide open windows through our kitchen, tickling each freshly baked desert as mama and I retract it from our oven.  These are the moments I never want to forget, and hope to share them with my own little family someday.

One of my favorites is our home made cinnamon apple pie. All you will need for the filling is:

5 Freshly picked apples 1 TSP Cinnamon 1 cup Sugar 3 TBSP flour 2 TSP Fresh squeezed lemon juice 2 TBSP Butter

For the crust, you will need:
6 TBSP Butter 1 Cup Flour 1/2 tsp salt Few drops of water as needed

Starting with the crust, combine the butter, flour, and salt in a bowl and mix with your fingers until it turns into a doughy consistency.  You may need to add in some water as you mix, just to cement all of your ingredients together.  Roll the dough into a ball, and pat it down with your palm until it is about 3 inches in height.  Place this thick layer of dough into the fridge for about 30-45 minutes, and then repeat in order to make the top layer.  After 30-45 minutes has passed, roll out the dough into a thin layer.  Place this layer into the bottom of your pie plate, and bake at 400 degrees until it turns into a golden brown.

Next, for the filling, peel and dice (or slice) your apples.  Place them into a bowl, and add in the sugar, cinnamon, flour, and lemon juice. Stir these ingredients until all of them are evenly distributed throughout.

To create your pie, fill your baked crust with the filling.  Add in 2 tablespoons of butter, and place little bits of butter on top of the filling so that they will melt down into the pie while it is baking.  Take the top layer of the pie crust, roll it out into a thin layer, and place it over the filling.  Next, pinch the two layers of pie crusts together into design of choice (this part is my favorite!) Slit the top layer in four different places to allow ventilation, and then place into the oven for about 35 minutes.  Remove, cool, and enjoy!

Works Cited

Eleanor. “Homemade All Natural and Organic Apple Pie.” Rudis Organic Bakery. Ballistic Bakeshop, 22 Oct. 2012. Web. 15 Oct. 2013.

This entry was posted in Research and Recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Summer’s End

  1. jcrhetblog says:

    Alexa: you succeed in making me wish that there was pie baking in my oven!

Leave a Reply

