My Grandmother’s Pumpkin Soup

While I was growing up, my family’s Sunday trip to my grandparent’s house always meant coming home so full of food we could barely walk. I found myself counting the days until Sunday, looking forward to spending time with my family. It feels like yesterday my family would pack into our van and play guessing games about what food my grandmother made for the week. Every Sunday during the season of fall my brother and I would yell, “pumpkin soup” over and over until my parents would turn up the radio to drown out our excited cries.

My grandmother is Hungarian, and many of the foods she cooks represent her culture. From goulash to chicken Paprikash, most of these Hungarian cuisines are spicy in nature due to a large amount of spicy paprika. For my family, it is common to see a can of spicy paprika sitting next to the salt and pepper on the dinner table. When I got older and I started having friends over, they found it completely strange that we used so much paprika and it took me a while to realize it wasn’t something everyone does.

My all time favorite food that my grandmother makes is hands down her homemade pumpkin soup. I would eat bowl after bowl no matter how full I was.  After my grandmother had a stroke a few years ago, she is unable to cook many foods anymore so I asked her for her recipe so I can make this delicious creamy soup for everyone when fall rolls around. To me, it is not officially fall until I have my first bowl of pumpkin soup.

I always used to wonder how my grandmother’s pumpkin soup would taste if it wasn’t during the fall season. My guess is that it would not be as special if it was not just during the fall season.

PUMPKIN SOUP RECIPE

Ingredients

1 green pumpkin, peeled and shredded

2 ½ cups water

500 g sour cream

1  large cooking onion, grated

 minced garlic cloves

1½ tablespoons of olive oil

Salt

Pepper

Paprika

Step by step directions

In a large soup pot put shredded pumpkin, 2 ½ cups of water. Let pot boil and reduce heat to medium and let cook for 30 minutes

In a different pan add the olive oil, onion, and garlic. Cook until garlic and onion is lightly browned.

When the 30 minutes is up, turn off the heat and add garlic and onion mix to soup.

Add salt, pepper, and paprika to taste.

This entry was posted in Research and Recipes and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to My Grandmother’s Pumpkin Soup

  1. jcrhetblog says:

    Yum! Great recipe and certainly this is the season for everything pumpkin.

Leave a Reply

