Mom and Pops!

Reginald Coleman

Professor Chernekoff

October 16, 2013

Mom and Pops!

It’s a hot sweaty Saturday in the month of July. My family has mini barbeques every weekend just to spend quality time together since everyone’s always on the go throughout the week. I’d always grill “the usual”: turkey burgers, sausage links, hot dogs, etc… My sisters (I have three) would take care of the salads, decorations, music and drinks. Once everything was gobbled up, my mom would always buy us freeze pops to eat as a snack, while we’d sit under the patio and engage in continued conversation.

What surprised me this past summer were the cups of fruit pops in plastic wrap that my mom was holding, I was expecting freeze pops; not fruit pops.  As my sisters and I mysteriously gazed back and forth at my mom and the fruit pops, she smiled at us and said “this summer, I’ve decided to make homemade fruit pops!”  After a pop or two, I had to admit: Yes indeed they were good and not too sugary like the freeze pops we ate last summer.

My mother’s homemade fruit pops are unique because you can add your favorite fruit into the mix, also, they’re simple to make. You can also take them to go! If you’re curious about making your own special homemade fruit pops, here’s the recipe:

Ingredients

  • 2 cup of fresh mangos, strawberries, and peaches mixed. *Or any of your own favorite fruit*
  • 2 cups of plain or vanilla yogurt
  • ¼ cup of honey (substituted as a sweetener) *you can add ¼ cup of sugar if you’d like*Materials
  • 6 popsicle sticks *depending on yield*
  • 6 small paper cups
  • Aluminum Foil
  • Plastic Wrap

Instructions

  • Place fruit, yogurt and honey into a blender. Blend until mixture is smooth, or chunky depending on your preference.
  • Fill paper cups up ¾ of the way with fruit mixture. Cover top of cup with aluminum foil and poke the center of the cover with a Popsicle stick.
  • Place cups in freezer for at least 5 hours.

Serving

  • Take cups out of freezer; remove foil and peel of the paper from the cups.
  • Enjoy!
This entry was posted in Research and Recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Mom and Pops!

  1. jcrhetblog says:

    Sounds like the perfect mid-summer dessert. I must remember to try this recipe next summer. Thank you.

Leave a Reply

