Corn Overload

When I was about 13, I went over to my best friend’s house to swim in her in-ground pool and have dinner with her family. Her parents were much different from mine. They ran a landscaping supply business and did a lot of farming. Her dad owned three big farm fields in the area near their house. They grew sweet corn in those fields to eat. I had no idea of the amount of corn that they produced in season. I also had no idea of the amount of corn that they consumed as a family.

Her family was much different than mine. My family was Italian and the food that we made was covered with spices, zesty flavorings, and wine. Her family was from the area and ate more bland foods with barely any seasonings. They were a typical red meat and potatoes type of Pennsylvania Dutch family. So for dinner, we were eating corn and some sort of roast on the grill.

I had never seen so much corn get eaten as I did that night. Her dad had recently farmed the corn and it was ready to eat. My friend, her sister, and I helped her mom shuck corn for dinner. Little did I know, that meant dozens of ears just for dinner alone. I remember her dad ate close to three dozens of corn himself. Everyone else ate between a half dozen and a full dozen of the golden corn, while I could only stand to eat two ears. Personally, I was not a huge fan of corn, but it was a local specialty in the summer.

For 1 dozen of corn: Shuck each cob. Fill a large pot with enough water to cover the corn. Add one cup of sugar. Let the corn boil for 7 minutes.

-Jessica Frederick

About soopergoof

This is the official page for Sooper Goof music. Sooper Goof is a one-man, electronic, indie rock band created by Jerome Anderson. Follow for music updates!
This entry was posted in Research and Recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Corn Overload

  1. jcrhetblog says:

    Wow! That is a lot of corn. I usually eat just one ear of corn even when I feel like I could eat more. Still, when corn is freshly picked, the mix of sweet and crunch together is hard to beat.

Leave a Reply

