Review on Barbara Kingsolver’s book

After reading Barbara Kingsolver’s book called “Animal, Vegetable, Miracle: A Year of Food Life” I reflected on everything Kingsolver and her family said and did. The Kingsolver’s took me with them on an inspiring journey while reading. The way each family member changed their lifestyle was an amazing feat, and I enjoyed reading about it. I liked the challenge they went through to only eat food they could find within an hour radius of their home. Also, I really enjoyed the fact that Barbara’s husband and daughter also contributed to the book in their own ways.
Barbara Kingsolver and her family have gotten more out of their experiment than, I believe, they originally thought. They learned about the “dangers” of eating regular grocery store foods, and have become healthier and happier from this experience. Barbara Kingsolver states that, “In April I’m happiest, with mud on the knees of my jeans, sitting down to the year’s most intoxicating lunch: a plate of greens both crisp and still sun-warmed from the garden, with a handful of walnuts and some crumbly goat cheese.”
From reading this book and seeing the advantages and sometimes slight disadvantages it has taught me. It’s not easy changing your lifestyle, however from reading this work I saw that it could be worth the effort. I saw more advantages than disadvantages, and it taught me that even if I don’t go all out like Kingsolver’s family did, I can still change smaller food choices and become healthier and ultimately happier. I started thinking about the food choices I make in life, and if they are really good for me and if I could change them.
I believe that what this family accomplished was extremely hard. However, it’s not impossible if you truly want it. I think location definitely plays a key role in the Kingsolver’s experiment, however I don’t think that it should stop you from trying. This is a lifestyle that you need to work for and actually want. If you’re not interested in putting in the effort, then it probably will not work for you.
I would say this book is a couple different genres. It is nonfiction, health, sometimes comedic, and factual. These genres are all blended into each other to create a masterpiece. It is a nonfiction book that talks about health in a comedic way, yet states important facts. It works together because it’s not the normal boring book about health and food, it injects comedy through the story which makes it more enjoyable to read. For example Barbara’s husband, Steven Hopp, states, “Each food item in a typical U.S. meal has traveled an average of 1,500 miles. If every U.S. citizen ate just one meal a week (any meal) composed of locally and organically raised meats and produce, we would reduce our country’s oil consumption by over 1.1 million barrels of oil every week.” Then the book will go into something cute or funny.
I would definitely recommend this book to people. I think it has a little bit of everything for everyone. It’s a book for all ages and all genders to read. It’s an interesting read, and I think everyone can take something from this book.

Thank you for reading,
Annaliese Detwiler

This entry was posted in Kingsolver Reviews. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

